1. Important: Please read our guidelines and tips for new players before posting, particularly if this is your first time. If looking for answers, start with a search of past topics.

Email: When is it a spam?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by SydneyWebService, Dec 22, 2008.

1. SydneyWebService

SydneyWebService Member

Hi,

In Australia, how is spam defined? I mean if I saw someone driving a car with an email address and I try to contact him about my business services, will it be considered a spam? If so, any alternative quick solutions :)
  2. ray_223

ray_223 Active Member

3. Robert Gerrish

Robert Gerrish Administrator Staff Member

Clearly following spam laws is a must. However, making contact with a business need not be spam if genuine thought and consideration has been given.

For example, an email that said something like this:

I saw your business advertised recently and as a consequence visited your website. As a web developer, I observed three key areas where your website could work more effectively for you. I would be happy to outline these improvements to you, either over the phone or by email. Please let me know if you would like to receive these recommendations.

...is unlikely to be viewed as spam. As a rule of thumb when it's all about YOU, it's probably spam. When it's genuinely all about THEM, it's unlikely to be seen that way.
  4. MissieK

MissieK Member

I find I get a number of phone calls from people wanting to send me emails introducing themselves - it really annoys me because the phone call wastes my time! Especially when their phone message doesn't tell me what they want...

As Robert said, an introductory email that is just that and expresses a wish to work together wouldn't be considered spam.

Melissa
  5. kathiemt

kathiemt Well-Known Member