1. Important: Please read our guidelines and tips for new players before posting, particularly if this is your first time. If looking for answers, start with a search of past topics.

Partnership Drawings or Salary

Discussion in 'Starting a business' started by rw2830, Apr 1, 2010.

1. rw2830

rw2830 New Member

Hi,

Just wondering what would be better....drawings from the partnership or salary. It would only be a small amount of probably $500/month which would cover the business loan we got to purchase the business. Assuming that the business doesn't pay the business loan and can only claim interest on loan as a deduction at EOFY.

Thanks

Bec
  2. PerfectNotes-Kathy

PerfectNotes-Kathy Active Member

Admittedly, I'm no expert on this, but my understanding is that as one of the owners of the business, if it's a partnership NOT a company, you can only take drawings. I believe that employees are only those people who are not partners owning the business - and they can get a salary.

Anyway, I'm sure one of our tax experts will comment soon. (And then I'll learn whether my understanding is right or not, too!)

Kathy
  3. FletcherTax

FletcherTax Member

Hi Bec & Kathy

A partnership can pay you via distribution or via wages.

In terms of better - one is paying tax (and super!) as you go and the other is paying tax in one lump sum at year end. Once you've lodged a Return or two, the ATO will enter you (individually) into a PAYG Instalment system whereby you pay income tax quarterly based on your prior Returns' submissions.

Janna

Please note comments made should NOT be taken as specific taxation, financial, legal or investment advice. Please seek professional, specific advice.
  4. Avatar Consulting