1. Why not have your say? To take part in forum conversations Sign In or Join. It’s fast, free and easy!
  2. Golden Rule: Be nice, respectful and avoid self-promotion.
    We pride ourselves on being the friendliest forums around. Check out our full guidelines and tips for new players.

Login problems? Please update your forum URL bookmarks or saved credentials from HTTP to HTTPS (we have upgraded security)

When talking about your solo business do you say "I" or "we"?

Discussion in 'Marketing mastery' started by Flik, May 23, 2014.

1. Flik

Flik Member

When describing your business do you use the word "I" or "we"?

I'm a freelance graphic designer, but a couple of months ago on the advice of a business coach I started to use the word "we". So now in the about section of my website it says "we" and when talking to customers on the phone I say "we", etc. And when I tell people what I do I say I have a design business rather than saying I'm a freelancer.

I'm just curious as to what other people do?

Since I've made the change my sales have increased, but I've also made a lot of other changes and increased my marketing. I'm finding that most of customers want to have the personal connection of working directly with their designer, so I'm wondering if might actually be hindering myself by saying "we"?
  2. MissSassy

MissSassy Renowned Member

This question divides a lot of people.

Think about your clients - are the dealing with you or are they dealing with your business.

If it is you - then say I

If it is the business - then say we

Hope that helps
    3 people like this.
  3. Johny

Johny Renowned Member

Probably not the answer to the question you are looking for, but instead of "I" and "we", perhaps using "you" and "your" may offer a better alternative, as in, highlighting what benefits your customer gets, rather than indicating what you do.

For example:

" As a graphic designer I/we design graphic stuff", as opposed to