1. Why not have your say? To take part in forum conversations Sign In or Join. It’s fast, free and easy!
  2. Golden Rule: Be nice, respectful and avoid self-promotion.
    We pride ourselves on being the friendliest forums around. Check out our full guidelines and tips for new players.

Login problems? Please update your forum URL bookmarks or saved credentials from HTTP to HTTPS (we have upgraded security)

Working for a foreign client - how are disputes resolved?

Discussion in 'Starting your journey' started by ricdel, May 21, 2014.

1. ricdel

ricdel Member

While dealing with a foreign client in the US, how is the contractor agreement governed? Can I write something like below?
    How are disputes resolved if I have to go to court? Can I take legal action against a foreign client from Australia?
  2. PerfectNotes-Kathy

PerfectNotes-Kathy Active Member

Hi,

Caveat - I am not a lawyer...

But, that fact aside, I expect you can add the clause you want concerning which jurisdiction is used, as it is in every software licence agreement that we ever see! However, I do not know how you would go about actually settling a dispute in court.

Good luck!

Kathy
    1 person likes this.
  3. Carl Desacola

Carl Desacola Member

Hi Ricdel,

The general rule in Australia is that a court will allow you to commence legal action against a foreign party unless the court is shown to be a “clearly inappropriate forum”. That is, it must not be vexatious or oppressive to hear the case in the domestic court.

In practice, this means that Australian businesses will generally be able to commence legal action against a foreign client in the domestic courts. The real challenge, however, lies in enforcing the judgment against the foreign client even if you were to in your case – the legal costs involved are usually quite astronomical.