Go Back   Small business forum Australia > Today's hot topics > Starting a business

Starting a landscape/carpentry and maintenance business

Link to this thread Thread tools Search this thread
  #1 (Link to this post)  
Old 17-08-12
Forum newcomer

Default Starting a landscape/carpentry and maintenance business

Hi!

Myself and my mate are looking at starting up our own Carpentry and Landscaping Business. We just don't know where to start and which direction we should head in.

Here's some background:
I am a qualified carpenter, although I don't have any further qualifications yet I am more than happy to get what is needed. ie: master builders course or something of the like.

My mate is currently at uni studying landscape architecture and has worked in the past for landscaping companies.

What we want to do:
Basically we want to be able to design, quote and build/complete anything we have designed for clients. Including decks, front and backyard designs, porches, pergolas small carpentry jobs like hang doors, skirting. We are not looking into doing extensions as yet but may get into renovations if the opportunity arises.

What we want to know:
Legalities of what we want to do, do we need any special courses, licenses or do I need my master builders?
I understand that we need building permits for some deckings and pergolas.
Tax: what is required by the ato? We want to do this right, and do it right from the start. Do we start the business as a partnership? Whats required of that? Do we just get an ABN and work away? We have a business name in mind.

So to put it simply, we have an idea just no idea where to go with it! It would be awesome to get this underway as soon as possible we already have people asking us for business cards and haven't even started yet!!!

Thanks for any help may be able to provide!!!!!
Dan

#2 (Link to this post)  
Old 17-08-12
Forum newcomer

I should have added:
We are located in melbourne Victoria!

#3 (Link to this post)  
Old 17-08-12