1. Why not have your say? To take part in forum conversations Sign In or Join. It’s fast, free and easy!
  2. Golden Rule: Be nice, respectful and avoid self-promotion.
    We pride ourselves on being the friendliest forums around. Check out our full guidelines and tips for new players.

Login problems? Please update your forum URL bookmarks or saved credentials from HTTP to HTTPS (we have upgraded security)

Bookkeeping fees & virtual bookkeeping

Discussion in 'Money matters' started by Biz Keeping, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Biz Keeping

Biz Keeping Member

Hi guys. I’m looking at jumping back in to my bookkeeping business after having twins in January. I’m a degree qualified accountant with 15+ years of bookkeeping experience, and about to register as a BAS Agent. I haven’t changed my hourly rate in 10+ years and have no idea what the going rate is. So I’m asking, how much do you pay per hour for a non-employee bookkeeper? If you don’t pay by the hour, what other form are you charged?

Also, is there anyone out there who uses a virtual bookkeeper who you interact with electronically (phone, email, zoom, etc) and don’t see in person? I’m wondering how that situation works. How do you get your documents to your bookkeeper? How often do you communicate with each other?

Thanks heaps,

Bec
  2. Paul - FS Concierge

Paul - FS Concierge Administrator Staff Member

Hi Bec,

Welcome back to soloism :)

This business is run from Australia.

May help with your research.

Good luck.

https://beanninjas.com/
    Biz Keeping likes this.
  3. JamesMillar

JamesMillar Renowned Member

I would say it's hard to get a high-quality bookkeeper for less than $60 per hour. We often see the savings made with cheaper bookkeepers are well and truly offset by the corrective action and costs associated with frequent poor quality.
  4. Alexilum

Alexilum Member

The National survey by the Australian Bookkeepers Association shows that the average rate is about $75/hr.