Home – New Forums Starting your journey Securing my businesses idea. Reply To: Securing my businesses idea.

The_TM_Chick
  • Total posts: 5
Up
::

Hi Silvid,

Best of luck to you in launching your new business! I am a Registered Trade Mark Attorney and a Solicitor with 10 years experience – you have cleverly not released the details of your new venture online which is great for you – but a bit harder for me to offer any guidance but here goes:

There are 3 systems of “Intellectual Property” (IP) registration in Australia – with copyright (the lovely ©) being granted automatically to the creator as soon as any creative works are made into a material form! In a nutshell:

* Trade Marks protects the “branding” aspects and actually includes all “signs” that you may use to promote your business including words, logos, slogans, shapes, colours, sounds and scents! You can use TM’s publically before seeking any protection and in fact you can have “a common law trade mark” but these are hard to prove & enforce (court action is required if problems arise).

* Patents protect the function of any new inventions (eg pharmaceuticals & new technology) and/or methods or processes (incl business processes if unique enough) of doing something but these need to involve “an inventive step” and be new and unique so not something logical that anyone could have come up with – you must keep these a secret before trying to protect as using it in public or telling someone outside of a “confidentiality undertaking” will void any protection you might be able to obtain

* Designs protect the appearance/ look of something and commonly includes shapes of products (eg toasters & kitchen items), styles of clothing or objects and even the look of materials or patterns (eg Burberry & tartans) – like patents you need to get your protection in place before you use the design publically or you void obtaining any protection.

Why think about Trade Marks?