Home – New Forums Starting your journey Should I pay for product samples??? Reply To: Should I pay for product samples???

blackdog
  • Total posts: 1
Up
::

HI Promo King.

I have been operating in the industry you wish to join for 10 years +

Should you have to pay for samples?

Yes & No.

Put it this way, what will YOUR policy be re: sending out samples? When you have prospects like burgo, will you simply send out multiples samples every time they ask?

When you take into consideration the cost of samples, delivery, handling, admin etc etc – you may find you will actually charge for samples too.

Here is my policy, it may help you a little.

I like to send samples for free to prospects, it’s good service. I’ll send pens, keyirngs , caps a few lower cost samples for no cost at all, but ONLY after a i have gone through a qualification process with the client – i ask for payment of samples if they are a tyrekicker, not my ideal target client type, or i think they are simply a freebie hunter (yes, there are forums out there dedicated to searching out and publishing links to sites like mine – http://www.ezypens.com.au – who offer free samples- tight wads)

On some occasions, i ask for a “samples deposit”. Say for example the samples requested are a higher cost item (shirts, higher end corporate gifts) I aks for a smal deposit (say $25 to cover costs). If the client retruns the samples in good order then i do one of two things –

1 if they make an order, i credit the samples deposit in full to their order = free samples

2 If they dont make an order, i refund the deposit less a small delivery & handling charge (30-50% depending on the item)