Home – New Forums Starting your journey Starting a side business Reply To: Starting a side business

donnafrithdesign
  • Total posts: 101
Up
::

Hi Teegee

Congrats on already having steady work from a regular client base! I am a graphic designer, working fulltime Monday – Friday and running my side business on the side. It really works for me as I enjoy being part of a team at my ’employee’ job but also appreciate the different range of projects and client interaction in my own business. It’s certainly do-able, sometimes a bit frustrating at times when you are stretched a bit thin trying to give everything to both jobs, but rewarding too!

In answer to your questions (sorry I have written an essay in response to yours :) )

– Do you trade under your own name, or do you have a business name registered?

I trade under my own name as I like clients to know they are working with just me. It makes it more personal and helps to build my reputation around my name, which is what I want at this stage of my career.

– How do you deal with phone calls and enquiries if you work full time for somebody else?

I am fortunate to work in a very flexible work environment where I put in 40 hours a week, however I decide to work them. I can start late and finish late, start early finish early, or do a longer day one day and a shorter one the next. These flexible workplaces exist so when you are looking for a fulltime job keep that in mind. I can easily take phone calls, check my emails etc. I always make sure I’m making up the time, in fact my employer probably still comes out on top!

– Sort of related to the above – how do you meet clients when you only have the weekend free? Simply meet on the weekend?