Home – New Forums Starting your journey Starting a business — what structure? Reply To: Starting a business — what structure?

AGMBris
  • Total posts: 319
Up
::
BC, post: 101134 wrote:
Hi AGMBris,

Thanks for your excellent thoughts, and your accounting background lends a lot of weight to what you have to say!

I think I’m going to go with the Pty Ltd route, both for long term viability (I’ll get there eventually), ease of operations (operating nationwide and working with enterprise clients is easier as a company), and for trust (“Pty Ltd” on your businessname implies a lot).

In saying that, I did have a couple of questions around financial disadvantages:

1. As a sole trader, you can claim a tax benefit up to $75,000. As a one-man company, would I not be able to claim this? (If not, can I get my company to contract myself as a sole trader?)
  2. As a sole trader, I don’t think I would need to make super contributions. But as an employee of my company, would I be obliged? (This is essentially 10% off cash flow so pretty important consideration I think)

Also, you mentioned needing to know about accounting if you go with the company. If I registered it today, would I need to see an accountant right away to set things up a certain way? Or can I follow common sense (seperate bank accounts, record every transaction) and sort things out at EOFY?

Thanks again for all your help!

Ben

Hi Ben

Sorry for the delay it has been a hectic new year.

It appears there has been quite a bit of response for you and all the information from the other poster’s is very valuable. There is a lot of information out there for you.

I always felt it was important to balance the “getting bogged down in the information” V “getting going” and thats probably really where i was coming from.