Home – New Forums Starting your journey Can a business succeed in a HIGH COMPETITION area? Reply To: Can a business succeed in a HIGH COMPETITION area?

Beautician
  • Total posts: 180
Up
::

Can a GOOD business really flourish when there are MANY businesses within walking distance of each other?

Hi there. I’m a beauty therapist and currently practice as a nail technician. When I first came to this forum, I was in the process of setting up my own salon. This has now eventuated into a nail studio as premises I required were not available. However, the commonality between us remains the same: we are both competitng in an area where there are a lot of beauty related businesses.

To answer your question, yes, it can.

I don’t discount. I can’t afford to. However, I find that added value selling really works. When I opened, in addition to a service guarantee, I offered an item (nail oil) with my full price service and the response was tremendous. However, I have found in the time that I have been open that quite simply people look for good customer service. I also cross sell with businesses I can rely on.

I know “good customer service” sounds really easy and everyone out there mentions it but a lot of salons (beauty and hair) fail dismally in this area. My own hairdresser lost my business when she put her apprentice on the desk and charged my card $1100 for a $110 service which she couldn’t refund because she didn’t know how and oh well I’d just have to come back later and get it. I eventually got my money…a week later. Another salon I left because the staffmember was grumpy/distracted and didn’t make me feel welcome…and you know what? That’s common! Those of you reading this, go into a salon and try to make a booking and watch how you are received. You’d think customer service was such a simple skill to master but it really is an art.