Home – New Forums Money matters GST and RCTIs Reply To: GST and RCTIs

Fintric
  • Total posts: 3
Up
::

Hi Chrislck,
You are correct that both options gave you the same result. As an accountant, I would prefer option A as it is cleaner. However, if you have to do option B, here is what you need to do to not get fined if the agent doesn’t transfer the GST on your behalf to the ATO:
1) Get the message from the agent above “don’t worry about the GST on sales; we’ll send it to ATO on your behalf. It means you don’t have to transfer this $100 to ATO; you’ll claim the $30 as usual from ATO via BAS” in writing and save it where you can find later
2) Get an invoice from the agent for $300 + $30 GST. Make sure you get this or you can’t claim the $30 GST in your BAS
Accounting entry is:
Cr Account Payable 330
Dr Agent fee expense 300
Dr GST account 30
Then “fake” pay it with a clearing account
Cr Clearing account 330
Dr Account payable 330
3) Raise a sales invoice for $1000 in your accounting system, put it under GST Free category and send it to the agent.
Accounting entry is:
Cr Sales 1000
Dr Account receivable 1000
Then “fake” receive it with a clearing account
Cr Account receivable 1000
Dr Clearing account 1000

Now the net effect in the clearing account should be exactly $670

When you receive $670 in your bank, instead of putting it to your sales, put it to your clearing account.

In your BAS, you will report 1000 under GST free sales and $330 under non-capital purchase. You will pay nothing under GST but claim $30 from the ATO.

On the other hand, the agent has to pay $130 to the ATO and not $100. Because at the end of the day, the ATO needs to collect a net $100 from the transaction. If the agent only remits $100 and you claim $30, the ATO only get s$70 and they will come down on you very hard with fines.