Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Newbie Here, Seeking Advice for Business Setup? Reply To: Newbie Here, Seeking Advice for Business Setup?

Paul – FS Concierge
Keymaster
  • Total posts: 3,488
Up
::

Hi Ana,

I understand your thought process as I lived through it.

My business was making about 50K AUD (converted) at the time and it was my side hustle while I was working a full time job.

I was a sole trader as my business was very low risk of having an insurable event occur and didn’t have turnover that warranted anything more than registering an ABN.

Basically, I am straying into Accountant’s territory (and shouldn’t because things may have changed and/or, your circumstances may be different and Tax Law can be un-forgiving if you “hope” you are right – you MUST be right or potentially pay the consequences) – but being a sole Trader was the lowest cost option for me and suited me at the time. A lot of soloer’s never have a Company or Trust. Ever. Again Accountant’s can advise your best option but seek the advise of a few because some will try to up-sell you on expensive options you don’t need.

In any quarter, had I done more than 1/4 of the GST threshold, I would have been required to register for GST.

Depending on the nature of your business – (you haven’t stated what it is), you may need to consider public liability insurance and be aware of the situation in Australia and the US. Another issue is product returns if you have any and how you handle them.
Thankfully, my business was a Job Board (recruitment) and didn’t at the time, have to worry about that. Amongst my biggest problems was spotting and dealing with Credit Card fraudsters (of which there were many) and keeping my PayPal record in-tact because PayPal was known to shutdown accounts that attracted too many fraudsters without consultation. Had Stripe been available then, that would have been my choice.