Home – New Forums Starting your journey 2 Soletraders under one business name?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    animalinbalance
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone!!
    I’m very new to the Australian business world (I’m from Holland) and I just started my small business. I’m registered as a sole trader and got a business name.
    I do pet/horse bodywork & acupuncture and would like to go to events soon to do work there and get my name out. I’ve recently bumped into a product that I would like to use and sell at these events, but because I can’t do everything alone I want to ask one of my best friends to help me out by coming with me to the events, or on the days that I can’t go out she can go out and use this product.

Now is my question: Can my friend use my business name too when she register herself as a sole trader? I’ve registered the business under my name but like her to use it too as we will share the product and will get more customers when we are available (almost) every day of the week.
    I will no employ her, she will work for herself.

Thanks heaps!!
    Aukje

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

Sorry but that’s not possible. A sole trader has the business name delegated to that one person. You would have to be a partnership or company to share the business name.

She could still sell under your name on your behalf – but she would have to bill you as her own name/trading name with her own ABN to avoid being an ’employee’ – but there are also rules on that.

See ATO http://www.ato.gov.au/businesses/pathway.aspx?sid=42&pc=001/003/135

See more at ASIC. http://www.asic.gov.au/asic/ASIC.NSF/byHeadline/Business%20names

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Aukje,

Welcome to Flying Solo :)

That sounds like a great way to get your name out there with your target market. I hope that the info you pick up here gets you off to a good start.