Home – New Forums Money matters a few more tax related questions.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jezza11
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi all,
    been reading the forum (and learning a lot) for a couple of days now and have decided to sign up and seek some advise that i have not yet had answered,

a little about me,
    i have been working for wages for the last eight years and am next month finishing up and going out on my own (sole trader), i am a trade qualified electrician and i am just going through the motions of setting a few things up.

i have a couple of questions related to tax that i have burning at me and if i could get a little insight to see if i am seeing things correctly or not.
    i will be getting my income paid into a business account and then paying my wage into my personal account each week/month, leaving my tax/gst in the business account.

1) i will require doing a couple of courses for some tasks directly related to my work, my question is can i use my tax that i leave in my business account to pay for these courses, or do i have to use my income and then claim it back at the end of the year?
    and also if this is the case am i able to do the same for a 100% used work ute?

thanks in advance,
    and i will be seeking an accounts advice when i have found my feet, i just want to see if i am getting my head around this.

MyGreatIdea
    • Total posts: 2,278
    Up

Firstly, congratulations on going out on your own !!

i will be getting my income paid into a business account and then paying my wage into my personal account each week/month, leaving my tax/gst in the business account

Good idea to keep a separate account. When you say “paying my wage” you just mean drawing out money for your personal use? There’s no need to deduct tax from what you’re drawing for yourself.