Home – New Forums Starting your journey A Few Questions about Employees, Buying Property

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    motrellik
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi guys,

I am a self taught Web Designer & Developer from Melbourne who is passionate about art and design. My business TRC-Designs was established a few years ago and have recently had increasingly stronger cliental throughtout the past few months. People are finding my business through ‘word-of-mouth’ so to speak, and through my website. I have a few questions that have regarding the expansion of my business.

I would like to know firstly when I should begin to look for property and hire employees. What comes first? How do I know when the time is right? Do I need a lot of money saved?

I would like to know what the easiest way would be to go about all this, or if I should go down this path at all?

I need some direction on how I should proceed with all this.

Anyone who can offer some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Spider
    • Total posts: 95
    Up

Hi Tom,

Looks like things are going well for you.
    We were in your position a few years ago.

The move out of home to a bigger place happened first for us, as we deal with physical products.
    However, after that came employees.

When we moved to bigger premises, it was just my wife and myself working, and it was very hard work.
    Was killing myself badly, but profits were good for a biz only a year old, was netting close to 500k (after taxes).

It came to a point where I could keep killing myself for another couple of years and burn out, but make another mil or so, or get employees, which I really didn’t want to do as I really didn’t know how they would go and it was all new to me.

We did end up getting 1 employee to help with the physical work, and then got another a year or so later to help with the office stuff.