Home – New Forums Tech talk Advice needed re the purchase of Photoshop

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    gaydon
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hello,

I’m an artist with no experience using graphics software/photoshop. I have painted a number of simple logo designs. I’m intending to take a high res photo of each artwork and then clean it up using a product like Photoshop.

I have done some research on Photoshop and I’m overwhelmed with the different versions & applications. It would be much appreciated if anyone experienced in the industry could point me in the right direction re: the software that I would need? I have a Mac computer, approx 5 years old.

I’m also looking for a cost effective solution, given limited funds available for this project.

I intend to produce a large number of designs, therefore I would like to learn the end-to-end process rather than outsourcing.
    Thank you for your time

altima
    • Total posts: 131
    Up
    gaydon, post: 81835 wrote:
    I’m also looking for a cost effective solution, given limited funds available for this project.

You may try free open-source GIMP, it’s not as sophisticated as Adobe Photoshop but could be good enough for you.

Allied
    • Total posts: 96
    Up
    altima, post: 81837 wrote:
    You may try free open-source GIMP, it’s not as sophisticated as Adobe Photoshop but could be good enough for you.

Hi

I agree try GIMP first. My daughter is an artist and I suggested to her to try GIMP, she loves it and finds it easy, lots of her artist/ photographer friends use it too. It was suggested to me for her by the Photography teacher I worked with at the TAFE.