Home – New Forums Starting your journey Advice on potential startup

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    brettd
    • Total posts: 11
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I’ve been doing some market research on my potential busines idea, and I’m just trying to decide on my next steps. ie. should I launch or not.

My idea is in the mining recruitment space, something I have some knowledge of through being a mining engineer for the last 15 or so years.

I believe that with the skills shortage in the mining industry, there is need for a better way of connecting the jobs to the mining professionals, rather than the traditional job ads (ie. Seek, Careerone etc.).

I was thinking of building an online database of mining professionals, which mining companies, recruitment agencies etc can then access to find a good fit for their vacancies.

It would be targeted specifically to mining professionas, and marketed as being built by mining professionals for mining professionals.

It could also be used to help fix another problem, that recruiters candidate databases are often out of date, and difficult to keep current.

There are other similar websites out there with similar functionality, ie. Seek, CareerOne and a new one called Fifobids, but I don’t believe they’re very well put together and targeted (at least the searchable database part).

I’ve been working on getting feedback on the idea from recruitment agencies and mining professionals, via direct email and using landing pages such as these:

For mining professionals.
    http://unbouncepages.com/mining-target-pro/

Recruiters
    http://unbouncepages.com/mining-target/

Whilst I’ve had some good feedback from recruiters on the idea, with many giving good, positive feedback, I’ve had trouble getting much out of mining professionals. And so haven’t been able to establish much of a database as yet.