Home – New Forums Starting your journey Advice on sub products

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jenn75
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hey all, I’m Jenn! :D

So I’ve been working towards building my web development and will hopefully soon register it as a “company”. I have several years experience and love creating projects.

My thoughts are, if I were to register as a web development company it would be to build websites for clients and I can see how that will be ok business-wise. But if I decide that I want to create a product, or a “software-as-a-service”, do I need to do anything special with it legally? Do I need to patent the idea or trademark it or register it as a company or? Regardless if it makes money or not?

Looking forward to your thoughts.

Cheers

Jenn75
    Up

Re: Advice on sub-products

Jenn75, post: 155588 wrote:
    Hey all, I’m Jenn! :D

So I’ve been working towards building my web development and will hopefully soon register it as a “company”. I have several years experience and love creating projects.

My thoughts are, if I were to register as a web development company it would be to build websites for clients and I can see how that will be ok business-wise. But if I decide that I want to create a product, or a “software-as-a-service”, do I need to do anything special with it legally? Do I need to patent the idea or trademark it or register it as a company or? Regardless if it makes money or not?

Looking forward to your thoughts.

Cheers

Oopps.. Sorry wrong section :(

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Jenn75,

I’ve moved your post for you – I think this is the better spot for it.

All the best,
    Jayne

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi Jenn75,

Do I need to patent the idea or trademark it or register it as a company or?

The ‘helpful’ answer – yes, perhaps you do :)