Home – New Forums Starting your journey Advise on starting an accounting/bookkeeping business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ntgd
    • Total posts: 36
    Up
    ::

Hello all,

After working as an employee for over 9 years I am thinking of starting my own accounting/bookkeeping business.

I am a qualified CPA and registered tax agent and work with SMEs with financial difficulities that often ended up in insolvency actions and help them to re-establish themshelves in business again for the last 7 years.

I don’t want to deal with of all the negative side of business world anymore, therefore thinking of starting my own business.

I have been looking into a few accounting/bookkeeping franchises and the prospect of starting on my own.

I would like to have some advise or feedback from people that have similar experience particular those that operates an accounting/bookeeping franchise.

Any advise and feedback will be appreciated.

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi ntgd,

We put a call out on Facebook to see if we could rustle up any advice for you, and so keep an eye out for responses here too. There’s one there already, and more may follow.

Good luck,
    Jayne

MelissaN
    Participant
    • Total posts: 111
    Up

Hi ntgd,

I thought about franchises but soon realised that a) I can’t afford to purchase a franchise and b) you still start off with zero clients.

Also, if you have worked with any clients who owned franchises, what were their fee structures like in terms of their monthly fees to the franchisor? I know they vary but I wonder if it’s worth it…?

Also, if you buy a franchise, you tend to be “stuck” to a particular area. If you’re happy with that, then that’s great. If you want to expand your client base outside of that area, what are the implications?