Home – New Forums Starting your journey Am I running a hobby?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Samson
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi there,

I’m a first year university student with a casual job (usually 4 hours per week) and when I can fit it in/actually get jobs I do graphic design/wesbites on the side. I just do it from home on my computer and have no outlay, overheads etc and the only advertising I do is through my own website and a general google listing. I definitely don’t earn anywhere near $75,000 from it, and earn probably less than $4500 a year from my casual job.

My question is, am I running a business? Or is this a hobby? If so what are the legalities/obligations?

Samson

Dream Group
    • Total posts: 47
    Up
    Samson, post: 26383 wrote:
    Hi there,

I’m a first year university student with a casual job (usually 4 hours per week) and when I can fit it in/actually get jobs I do graphic design/wesbites on the side. I just do it from home on my computer and have no outlay, overheads etc and the only advertising I do is through my own website and a general google listing. I definitely don’t earn anywhere near $75,000 from it, and earn probably less than $4500 a year from my casual job.

My question is, am I running a business? Or is this a hobby? If so what are the legalities/obligations?

Samson

Hi Samson,

In my opinion it depends on what kind of work the graphic design/web work is.
    Whether you are working as a contractor or an employee.
    Should you be running a business the only thing you would need is an ABN, which is free.

Hope that helps

Regards
    Warren

CruzAccountant
    • Total posts: 195
    Up

Hi Samson

Here’s a good starting point: http://www.ato.gov.au/youth/content.asp?doc=/content/66884.htm