Home – New Forums Selling online Another Ebay store questions, sort of

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anthony_83
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

Hey guys, Im in the middle of starting up a mobile car air conditioning and vehicle service business. I have a Registered business name and ABN. I also have started importing a few vehicle accessories from china and would like to sell these through ebay store. My question is, can the store be named anything I like? Or is it wise to stick with my company name ( slightly unrelated name ) for tax purposes.

Obviously I will use my current ABN but not sure whether I can add an ebay store to my list of trading/business names etc

ANy help in this area would be greatly appreciated

LucasArthur
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,171
    Up

Hi Anthony

Ok, you appear to be asking a few things.. Although i am no expert, i will try to answer a few and hopefully the ‘experts’ will chip in as well.

Re ebay, remember you will create a user name as well.. this is the ebay owner of the store and then you will name your store what ever you wish.. I personally would suggest that if it compliments your business that you name it the same as your main business.. why wouldnt you want to build ‘brand recognition’ via any channel possible? unless you purposely wish to keep them separate in case you use ebay to ‘dump’ items that you dont want your core business customers to know about ;)

On this, there is no legal ramifications (unless you are infringing on trade marks – maybe) to force you into a specific store or user name on ebay… YOU create the name…

This name has NOTHING to do with TAX related issues that i am aware of, so please do not confuse the registered ebay name/store name with your business operations.. it is merely an extension of your business and it is then how you report it through the ATO that matters…