Home – New Forums Tell me straight… Are the days of travel agents numbered ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    travelmaster
    • Total posts: 200
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone.
    Yes, I am a travel agent since 1983. I’ve seen a lot of changes in that time. But none so significant as the rise of internet bookings. But the other day I read an interesting article in SMH written by a stockbroker. It seems their industry is also fighting with the net. So here is my question to everyone – do you think that industries like travel will soon become “internet only” or do you think that there will always be room for travel agents when it comes to booking travel. And if so, what do you think should the role of a travel agent be in the future.

rgds to all

Hugh Thyer
    • Total posts: 159
    Up

If all you do is book tickets for people then your days are numbered.

But if you provide added value that people don’t get then there will still be a place for you.

And if your competition is still stuck in ‘booking only’ mode then it could be an opportunity to dominate the market with your extra services once they go under.

FionaFell
    • Total posts: 342
    Up

Despite my lvoe for the internet I do not trust website booking to work out interconnecting flights, transfers and time zones all in one go, let alone across multiple providers.

If you can still make all that stuff happen and give suggestions and advise around things to do or not do when I arrive at my destination you still have me won over.

SUMMARY: You have a bright future, especially if I get to travel more often.

travelmaster
    Up

Thks..