Home – New Forums Money matters Are you happy to pay upfront for business services?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    bridiej
    • Total posts: 1,097
    Up
    ::

I’ve had a bit of an issue this month with some late payments, something I can ill afford to happen on a regular basis.

So it’s got me wondering whether I should ask for upfront payments, before any work is done.

If you have a moment please vote in my poll and, if you answer “no” please give a brief message in the comment box to let me know why.

Thanks in advance :)

Keeta Nova
    • Total posts: 294
    Up

This is something I have considered quite a bit myself.

As a consumer, it would be a rare occasion for me to pay for something over the Internet, and especially not to a company who don’t even provide their contact details (as many sites don’t these days).

I am a freelance writer, and I don’t charge much for small business jobs because I keep my overheads low, don’t rent an office and don’t chase bills. Clients pay me upfront for small jobs and progressively for big ones.

Most of my work is through word of mouth, so clients usually know they can trust me and even though most of my work is done over e-mail I am always available to talk on the phone, or even face to face. I view this honesty and openness as important when you are accepting money upfront. Hope this helps.

Keeta

SalenaKnight
    • Total posts: 604
    Up

Why don’t you look at implementing a “must pay for the first 3 services” or similar. Once you have established their credible, you can them look at offering an account.

The Copy Chick
    • Total posts: 963
    Up

Hi Bridie,

Unless I’m doing a really small job (less than $200) I charge half up-front and invoice the rest on completion.