Home – New Forums Starting your journey ASIC – Principal place of business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    bettina
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi guys!

I’m a newbie to the forum and currently in the progress of registering my company and I have hit a bit of a wall.

So it’s going to be a delivery business, and majority of the work will be done on the road (collecting items and taking them to the businesses) with the admin stuff mainly being done at home.

A company would be the best structure for me and for the sake of image (business to business sales) I have paid for a virtual address. Now, would I just use the virtual address for the registered company address, or would it also be for the principal place of business?

Upon reading some old threads here, I understand ASIC is publishing these addresses online? I may be wrong (I think the big thread was from 2012) but it is a little concerning (not so much for safety, but for image). For this reason would I be able to leave the virtual address for both?

And if so, do I say the company occupies the registered address (virtual address) or should I say it doesn’t and I have permission to use it?

Hopefully this all makes sense and I haven’t rambled too much! Thanks in advance :)

B

bjmyers
    Participant
    • Total posts: 17
    Up

Hi Bettina,

The registered address of a company is the address ASIC and other organisations use to when sending official correspondence. Usually your accountant will use their office as the registered address to provide privacy as well as part of an overall corporate secretarial service.

The principal place of business is the address at which you are trading. It must be a physical street address, not a PO Box. Check with your virtual office provider to see what their policy is on using the address with ASIC. Most say their addresses are accepted by ASIC, but better to double check.