Home – New Forums Starting your journey Bottle shop.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    LKC
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hey.

I’m not sure if this is the correct place for this thread but it seems like the most suited.

Since working in a bottleshop when I finished school in 08 and for most of 2009 I have wanted to run and own a bottleshop. I have a great appreciation for different spirits and beers and do enjoy wine though I am not a expert at all in it.

I am not wanting to start one from scratch as I believe I am not yet experienced enough to do so, though would consider opening up a second shop from scratch if my first was going well. This means I am looking to buy an already existing shop.

I am interested in knowing if anybody had any advice on where I would start in looking or bottleshops that are for sale and any tips or advice to give a newbie to the small business arena.

I do have some potential problems with my age that I am only 19 and hence do not have much business experience, and I feel banks would be less likely to give me a loan, though I do have several family members willing to loan/give me significant amounts of money and would be willing to be a guarantor to the bank.

I live in Melbourne and would hence be wanting to buy in Melbourne.

Jake@EmroyPrint
    • Total posts: 1,117
    Up

Hey LKC,

Congratulations on wanting to take the big step! I understand the feeling of trepidation as I am a young business owner as well.

I started my own business when I was 16, so I’ve had a bit of practice before.

If you haven’t had any experience running a business I strongly suggest you study as much as you can about it, online or through an established system – there are many facets of running a business that you may not know, but will need to.