Home – New Forums Starting your journey Building a website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    newface
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

Hi,
    I need help! I want to start an online children’s business and need to get a website built. My problem is I don’t really know where to start as I have never done this before. Do I need to find a website designer locally or can you do it successfully remotely? Do they design logo’s or should I have one before I approach them? Once up and running I wan’t to be able to make my own changes ie add or remove items myself – is there anything I should ask to make this happen? Do they provide the web hosting or is it better for you to find it yourself? This last point is the most confusing because a couple of the threads I have read have said to make sure you have a stand alone, independant website but how will I know this? And finally, any shopping carts better than others?
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Many Thanks,
    Jane

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Local or remote probably depends on the job and if you want those face-to-face type meetings. Many designers work for clients around the globe so distance isn’t usually a problem.

Web design and logo design are two specialized areas. Some web designers can be multi skilled so it’s important you understand what skills and services they can provide. Branding is best done before the web site.

A CMS (content management system) will be required for you to make changes yourself.

Hosting and domain you can buy yourself, but if you don’t know anything about these then best to ask the designer for advice. Same with shopping carts.

One final tip: have a decent budget for this and don’t shop on price alone. You only get what you pay for and this is so true with e-commerce sites.

deskchecked
    • Total posts: 4
    Up

Hi Jane,

That’s a lot of questions! Let’s see …