Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business and Direction

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Dru86
    • Total posts: 16
    Up
    ::

Good Morning Everyone,

Well I have been lurking behind these pages for a little while now, trying to soak up some of the very useful information that gets around. I have come to a point though where I thought I best start asking some questions to help myself with direction.

Over 6 years ago I used to run a small photography business based around motorsport and automotive photography. Even got some photo shoots published in some magazines which was a highlight – although the business didn’t get off the ground due to a number of factors but I would have to say lack of confidence in my product would definitely have been the big one. So fast forward to today – I left the photography behind, became a plumber by trade and now work on Gas Drilling Rigs. Quite a variety of work, and now a 2 week on/off roster that allows myself to focus attention to a new beginning. All this time though, I’ve had the desire to run my own business – something to be proud of and say is mine – hence the reason I am on here at the moment.

I wanted to ask the question, how did you come across your business idea? Was it through luck, hard work or continuous failures of other ideas?

For myself, I would love to set myself into the motorsport/automotive industry, supplying products or services – I want to use my business to help fund my dream goal I’ve had since I was 16 – enter the Targa Tasmania!

I have been thinking high and low of what services or products I could provide to this industry, and I cannot seem to see anything that is feasible – lacking a mentor I think does not help either. I feel that I have the skills and ability (with some fine tuning needed) along with a partner that is highly organised and extremely proficient with dealing with people.