Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business legal structure

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    downhaul
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

I’ve been running an IT consultancy business for the last 5 years with no incorporated company. There is a registered trading name, but legally the business’s money and my money are the same and I only pay personal income tax.
    Turnover is well above $100k a year, but it’s mostly international and less than $5k of that is from Australian business.

The question is whether this is the best structure. Does anyone have advice on this?

Some potential factors include:
    – How onerous are the legal requirements of a limited company?
    – Is a limited company a better form of protection than professional indemnity insurance? I don’t have a huge amount of personal (except superannuation) or business related assets.
    – How could I use an incorporated company to reduce my tax bill?

Thanks in advance.

Alex (LegalVision)
    • Total posts: 52
    Up

Hi, downhaul!

If you’re thinking about expanding your business, raising capital by bringing on shareholders and investors then yes incorporating your business is a good idea. Of course setting it up is more complex but easily done with the help of a small business lawyer. Registering an incorporated company with ASIC costs $497, and the annual renewal fee costs $243.

To answer your question regarding limited liability, a company shelters or ‘veils’ it’s directors from personal liability as it is basically a separate legal identity from its directors. The law regards a company as its own legal person (or entity). So say if the company is being sued, or becomes insolvent, directors of a company have protection from creditors if the company goes into debt, unless they continue to operate the business while it is insolvent.