Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business Name not linked to ABN

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    erinna
    Participant
    • Total posts: 135
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

I just thought I would post what I found out today.

I registered my business name, Erinna Imagery, about two years ago. On the forms, it asks for your ABN. I assumed that the two would then be linked.

Over the past two years, the opportunity has not arisen that Ive had to confirm this. However, today, as I was filling in my new business bank account forms, it asks for a Business Search extract, so I figured I should just check all the details are correct.

I searched the ABR website and it came up showing my ABN, and my Entity Name (being me, as Im a sole trader), however, no where does it show my Business Name/Trading Name.

I checked the ASIC website and the WA Department of Commerce site for my Business Name – all good and dandy.

After ringing the ATO Business line, I was informed its two separate entities and they are not automatically linked. You need to inform the ATO of your ABN’s new trading name.

Very simple, and something I realised was straight forward, but I thought I would just let everyone know. :)

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Erinna,
    It’s an area many people find complex, so thanks for posting your summary!

Have a great weekend,
    Jayne

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

I’m really glad I saw this as it applies to me also.

From what I can tell, the form to fill out is this one:

http://www.basicbookkeepers.com.au/files/ato_change_of_registration_details_form.pdf

Cheers,

Sandy

horse033
    • Total posts: 4
    Up

Does the ABN (sole trader) number need to be linked to your own registered business name????? for any reason at all??

i have a seperate ABN # and a seperate businees name same as erinna an sandy b

thanks

Canex Graphic Designs
    • Total posts: 222
    Up