Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business name obligations if there is no turnover

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    herewego
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi there,
    Yep, complete newbie here but I swear I have done a good bit of searching and had no luck before posting this.

My partner and I have the goal of getting into property renovations as a full time business but want to do our first 1 or 2 projects under our own name i.e. outside any business structure.

However, we want to be able to approach real estate agents as “Jeff and Marina from blah blah blah Property Renovators” (to be treated seriously and hopefully get a slight preferential treatment) and also to approach building supplies companies as a professional looking outfit to secure the best deals (e.g.. receive ‘trade’ price). Also, we’d like to secure our company name so it doesn’t get taken by someone else.

We envisage that our eventual operating structure will be along the lines of…
    Discretionary trust with sole trader pty ltd trustee company for asset protection and ability to distribute profits and…
    Sole trader pty ltd operating company to operate as ‘project manager’ and give an extra level of asset protection.
    We don’t expect to be at this level for a few years but I don’t want to compromise our ability to set this up by doing it wrong from the start.

So… if we get an ABN and register our business name but have no turnover for a year or 2, what are our obligations to the ATO?
    Do we need to lodge BAS’s?
    How complicated wil EOFY accounting obligations be?
    Any other advice?

I have an appointment to see the local BEC in 10 days but would like to go in a bit better informed than I am right now.

I hope I’m not asking too much for a first ever post!

Thanks
    Jeff

Divert To Mobile
    • Total posts: 2,751
    Up
    herewego, post: 127732 wrote: