Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business name: one word or two?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    FreeBeer
    • Total posts: 20
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone, newbie here, looking forward to joining in the fun, and seeking some input on my first major decision! Hopefully the title says it all, otherwise read on at your peril…

I recently started a local service business under my own name, but I want something more snappy and memorable. I put together two small key words (one adjective, one verb) that when combined are, I believe, both of those, and pretty descriptive of the services I offer (It isn’t actually Free Beer, obviously, but let’s pretend). I googled the combination, with almost zero hits worldwide (other than random connections), so right now it’s wide open for me. I even got the eBay user id, which is almost unheard of these days!

If it helps, many of my customers are not highly tech savvy or even own a computer. Word of mouth is vitally important, and most of my advertising will be local print, flyers, and vehicle signage, but of course I will have a facebook page and website too.

I guess the pros and cons of each approach, as I see them, are:

One word pros:
    Totally unique word
    Business name exactly matches domain name etc
    Seems obvious, my initial thought was to concatenate

One word cons:
    Not so easy to visually identify the two words (although still pretty easy)
    Some customers might search as two words anyway
    Less options with visual layout on signage etc
    May leave the option open for competitors to register or just use the two words together
    I’m already going with a slightly ‘witty’ and franchisey name rather than a totally straight, dry one, concatenating it might be a step too far for some older / more conservative customers
    ASIC registration for the single word isn’t possible online, it requires human scrutiny (although I don’t foresee problems)