Home – New Forums Starting your journey Business Structure

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I am ready to source products for my first e-commerce store and i was wondering is it best to set up a company if you want to build an e-commerce store and would you set it up straight away before you get the store online.

I’m a carpenter and i have an ABN and registered for GST.

Could i use this for my store or is it recommended i set up a company?

Thank you,
    Nick

TheGoldenGoose
    • Total posts: 860
    Up

Hi Nick

How exciting!

My hubby has similar skills, so crack the whip when he’s at home ;)

These are questions you’d be better chatting with your accountant over. Will very much depend on how you want to shape the future of your business.

Hope you get some more tips here, best of luck!

Anonymous
    Up

Just to add to my previous post……

If i decide to trade under my ABN would it be best to register a business name?

Nick

Anonymous
    Up

I just had a chat with my accountant and she says to use my ABN until the store picks up momentum and then once it’s turning a profit, change to a company.

She said that there are high costs to set up a company and once the store is making enough profit i can change to a company structure.

So i think ill work with my ABN for now.

I also have a question about registering a business name…..

I will be contacting suppliers to source products for my store soon and was wondering if suppliers ask me “what is my company” what should i say….

“that i am not a company but a sloe trader”??

Or should i register a business name so i can show that i have a business name at least??

Nick

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi Nick,

I am ready to source products for my first e-commerce store and i was wondering is it best to set up a company if you want to build an e-commerce store