Home – New Forums Selling online Buying an established e-commerce business

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Krystal Ross
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hello,
    I am looking at buying an established small e-commerce business who have been trading for 3 years. The asking price is $6000 and It includes website, $5000 worth of stock and social media accounts.
    What questions should I be asking and what should I be doing? I’ve never done this before, please help.

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

Hi And Welcome to Flying Solo [USER=116346]@Krystal Ross[/USER] . It is great to have you!

Thank you for joining our community and posting.

Past sales is the best guide to future sales so the first, but not only thing I would ask for is a list of past sales – the longer, they have data for, the better the data will be.

That said, it is easy to fudge figures eg, run an ad campaign on a third party site that costs more than the profits on the sales and then hide that campaign from the new buyer – now the new buyer has no sales because the ad campaign is stopped.

I think you should be very careful and see an Accountant if you come to a point where you actually want to buy.

You can research the buying and selling process on sites like flippa.com.

Cheers

JDSpring
    • Total posts: 10
    Up

Hi Krystal

Are you acquiring a legal entity as part of the deal?

If yes, the due diligence list could be very extensive as it would include looking at financials, tax, ICA etc Pragmatically speaking, consider starting with the basics ie. Legal/financial due diligence.

In terms of the business itself, is it making revenue? as it sounds very cheap. Perhaps start with the source of the sites traffic (this is ultimately the revenue source too) and how much its costing to maintain it, and perhaps at a product level try and see if there is enough GP Margin at a product level to support the cost of sourcing the traffic.