Home – New Forums Money matters Buying vehicle through business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    ilic
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi all, i’m glad i found this forum, very helpful information so far.

I know this question has been raised before but i’m hoping someone can clarify further.

I run a small business, i’m a unit trust now trading as a pty ltd (I think, sorry i can never get my head around this, it was so much more simple when I was a Sole Trader!). Essentially, at the end of the financial year, all business profits get distributed between myself and my wife to minimise tax.

Now, we’re looking to make a healthy profit this financial year and that means paying a fair bit of tax, i’m looking at purchasing a car through the business to reduce our profit and pay less tax. I guess what I want to know is, is that a good idea? Say we are set to earn $50K net and i buy a $30k car, that means the business only earns 20K and I only pay tax on $20K?

If the car is used for 80%+ business use, does that mean i can run all expenses and the purchase price through the business?

Thanks in advance.

IC

jasonm
    • Total posts: 180
    Up

You can only claim a percentage of the cost and how it is determined depends on the km you do and what type of vehicle it is I think / depreciation, that sort of thing.

Best to speak to your accountant.

ray_223
    • Total posts: 594
    Up

… and you can only depreciate the value of the car over the life of the asset.

It would be advisable to see an accountant to get the best answers.

… nice problem to have btw ;)

James Millar
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,739
    Up

There is a big misconception that buying fixed assets (including cars) at financial year end is a great tax strategy and that it will make a substantial difference to your taxable income.