Home – New Forums Money matters Calculating changes in tax to stowe away as sales increase

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    happyez
    • Total posts: 49
    Up
    ::

Hello all

Hope the title makes sense!

I am a sole trader presently, I have a job (that pays the bills presently, and I will sell my services very soon and is likely to be taken up with vigour by quite a few people (so I am told).

I want to siphon off a certain percentage in tax for each individual sale so I am not surprised by EOFY. Although it is hard to predict in advance what I will earn, I feel that once I jump into the next tax bracket, I will have not put enough aside per sale, as I calculate it at a lower rate/threshold?

Anyone able to clarify how to do this the best?

Thanks for any advance ideas.

Eric Vigo

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

My late dad, who was a Chartered Accountant, always suggested to me to put away 20% of my earnings in a separate savings account. (Also put GST away as well now.) Then there would be money for either tax or an unexpected bonus if I wasn’t required to access it. That advice has been sound for the past 26 years in business for myself.
    Cheers.

happyez
    Up

Hi Karen

Yeah, that’s that sort of thing I was thinking about, just do it straight away, put it aside – don’t even think that cash is yours (at least until it’s a bonus like your dad said). However, do you think 20% is too low? If accumulated earnings ends up pushing you above $30K (or whatever the next tax bracket is), 20% aside would mean you are behind in what you should pay.

I was thinking that if you have an assumption about the amount of sales you may get (possibly based on conversion to sales if contacting x amount of potentials), and that may be more like 31%….

Would you think make it more 31% rather than 20%?

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

It’s really going to depend on what you earn.