Home – New Forums Starting your journey Can I recieve payments into my personal bank account?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Cage
    • Total posts: 17
    Up
    ::

I’m a sole trader trading under a business name for my web design company. Can I recieve online payments (paypal, paymate, direct bank deposit) into my personal bank account?
    Is this legal?
    Is this possible?

BrightBiz
    • Total posts: 69
    Up
    Cage, post: 29684 wrote:
    I’m a sole trader trading under a business name for my web design company. Can I recieve online payments (paypal, paymate, direct bank deposit) into my personal bank account?
    Is this legal?
    Is this possible?

Hi Cage,

As I am a sole trader, I am currently just using a personal bank account. I did however set up a second personal account so it wouldn’t be confused with my everyday banking.

For me, I found that the expense and features of a business account weren’t necessary, so simply using a personal account suits me fine, as a sole trader, your business transactions all come back to your personal TFN and income so there’s really nothing wrong with it as long as you keep business/personal seperate.

Hope that helps,

Loreena

Cage
    • Total posts: 17
    Up

Thanks Loreena, I was unsure because I’m trading under a business name now and didn’t know if that affected anything. I’m with Commonwealth Bank and I have netbanking, can I set up a second account online without going into the bank?

BrightBiz
    • Total posts: 69
    Up

Aaahhh yes, that’s a good point, perhaps you will need an account in your trading name? I know that I set up my extra account via my online banking with St George, it’s all in my name of course.