Home – New Forums Tech talk Cheap NAS – any recommendations?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    victorng
    • Total posts: 626
    Up
    ::

Seeing as there are quite a few IT savvy folk here, I’m looking at the Western Digital My Book World Network Storage Drive and the Seagate GoFlex Home Network Storage System to add a bit of much needed space at home – both are around $200.

Does anyone have any recommendations at this bottom end of the market?

Cheers
    Victor

DavidThomas
    • Total posts: 265
    Up

Hi Victor,

I would suggest it doesn’t particularly matter which device/brand you purchase they are all as likely to fail as each other. I worked in IT for a while and saw every single brand of hardware fail over time.

Just come up with a backup solution for your backups (eg. DVD backup once a month or something) and check warranties & keep copies of receipts.

Goodluck with it.

exstatic
    • Total posts: 335
    Up

In the office we run a WD MyBook and it’s not to bad.. out of the box it does the things it says, if you need it to do any more than hold files and backups then maybe go for something else – as it can be a bit hard to tweak.

At home I have a Dlink DNS 323 which is pretty awesome, does everything from website hosting through to sharing my movies with my PVR – although doesn’t play very well with OSX Time Machine.

The other great thing about the DNS 323 is you can put whatever size disks you want in it and operate them in a RAID config.

I hope that helps.

mike_allen
    • Total posts: 74
    Up