Home – New Forums Tech talk Choosing the right web host

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Bobe
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

This is my first time posting here so I hope this is in the right place.

I’m looking around for a decent yet affordable hosting company for my new web design startup. A few factors have accrued, including of course cost, reliability, performance and location. Most Australian web hosts are far more expensive than those in the US, even though the exchange rate is just about 1:1 these days, but I understand that hosting the site locally can improve search engine results.

It isn’t possible to register .com.au domains through US hosting companies (I can’t use .com anyway since it’s taken) so my only option in that case would be to register the domain locally, through a service like Netregistry, and point it to either a new hosting package or one that I currently own. But that brings up a slew of questions, such as whether there are any ties with Netregistry or if I can create email addresses for the new domain on an existing hosting account.

The easier but pricier alternative is an Australian hosting company, and after looking at a few I’m leaning towards either Jumba or Panthur. Does anyone have any experience with either of these companies?

websitedesigner
    • Total posts: 917
    Up

You can register the domain in Australia and point it to us servers no worries. Domain register doesn’t have to be the same company as the host.

The email stuff is done on the web host. Search ranking impact is negligible not worth worrying about. The only real advantage to hosting in Australia is local support and quicker load times. If you want to pay for that then host locally.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

Bobe
    Up
    websitedesigner, post: 159630 wrote: