Home – New Forums Money matters Company Tax Loss on Tax Return

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nishi018
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi,

I’m helping a friend who has started a small pty ltd business do some book-keeping. Last year expenses were more than income, thus the company made a loss. It was my understanding that this loss from a tax perspective could be carried forward to future years and offset any tax payable in future years. I had a look at the tax return that their accountant prepared and they did not fill in a tax loss carried forward to later income years in 13U. Is this correct or should the accountant have entered the loss here on the company tax return?

Lisa Crocker
    • Total posts: 221
    Up

Hi Nishi018,

Welcome to the forums, great to have you here :-)

I’m not an expert on tax matters, but hopefully someone else here will be able to step in and offer some advice.

Cheers,
    Lisa

Nishi018
    Up
    Lisa Crocker, post: 211468 wrote:
    Hi Nishi018,

Welcome to the forums, great to have you here :-)

I’m not an expert on tax matters, but hopefully someone else here will be able to step in and offer some advice.

Cheers,
    Lisa

Thanks Lisa

NickKaro
    • Total posts: 226
    Up
    Nishi018, post: 211466 wrote:
    Hi,

I’m helping a friend who has started a small pty ltd business do some book-keeping. Last year expenses were more than income, thus the company made a loss. It was my understanding that this loss from a tax perspective could be carried forward to future years and offset any tax payable in future years. I had a look at the tax return that their accountant prepared and they did not fill in a tax loss carried forward to later income years in 13U. Is this correct or should the accountant have entered the loss here on the company tax return?

It should’ve been entered in losses carried forward.

Nishi018
    Up
    NickKaro, post: 211481 wrote: