Home – New Forums Money matters company tax vs sole trader

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    hotbmw
    • Total posts: 13
    Up
    ::

Guys

I have been running as a sole trader for 6 years and it has been fine up till now as after my accountant does his magic with deductions and depreciation etc. it shows im on the 30% tax bracket.

But im now earning more and at the stage where this could change.

As a company, i know the tax rate is 30%. But is this applied when i draw the $ out and thats the only tax payable or is it a double whammy? 30% tax rate and then another personal income tax which is 2 lots of tax? Im confused here.

Thanks
    Rob

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

I was always advised to keep a separate bank account and ‘pay tax’ into it each month of estimated 20-30%. This is very helpful at tax and PAYG (Pay as you go) statements.

The tax is worked out on the whole of the income for a sole trader – and that is from all sources, including investments. (It’s not a double tax.) So earnings are added to investment income and interest income and the tax worked out on the whole minus any deductions or prepaid tax.

Whatever monies you draw out makes no difference to your tax as a sole trader.
    They are just Owner’s Drawings (Equity).

If your income has gone up and your turnover will get near or over $75K you will also be required to be registered for GST and submit regular BAS.

This is definitely something you should discuss with the tax office at http://www.ato.gov.au business division, or your accountant.

JanF
    • Total posts: 83
    Up
    hotbmw, post: 72431 wrote:
    Guys

I have been running as a sole trader for 6 years and it has been fine up till now as after my accountant does his magic with deductions and depreciation etc. it shows im on the 30% tax bracket.

But im now earning more and at the stage where this could change.