Home – New Forums Logistics Confused about customs charges – do I need a broker?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    summerdeb
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi guys
    I’m new to importing but I designed and purchased some fabrics to be made in China.

The terms I paid for were including air freight via TNT and the order cost USD2780.00 This included air delivery via TNT.

I expected to have to pay duty. TNT customs broker contacted me I did an FID on the order value of $2780 (AUD 3686) I sent the contract of sale and evidence of money paid (bank transfer receipt as requested)

Customs has added a charge called OSEA(2) of AUD842.00 which they added to the $3686 then gave me a CIF total of 4538.20 added a duty bill of $185 = GST bill of $472 plus other charges of $84 – total import charge around $740.

(I expected to pay $185 duty plus 10% gst of $368 = $550. I have tried to contact TNT to explain the OSEA charge but the only responses have been unhelpful.

Then on top of that (and 2 week delay in customs) the fabric quality was not to the printed sample I’d been supplied. The manufacturer has agreed to replace it – do I have to pay customs duties again?

If you are an import broker and can help me and provided a reasonably priced service to help me manage these headaches I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks
    Deb

FreightSelect
    • Total posts: 25
    Up

Hi Deb,

The customs side of thing is very confusing at the best of times so don’t feel defeated! Based on what you’ve listed here it unless there is something I can’t see it looks like there are some charges that need further explanation.

We provided an all inclusive managed service for importers and exporters inclusive on consulting if you need it (including customs advise). In short, we exist to help small businesses, even those trying to get up and running like yourself.