Home – New Forums Starting your journey confused about trademarking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    bug
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

I am a visual artist and I’ve just registered as a sole trader as well as registering a trading name. I’ve designed a logo that I want to use for my business. I’m rather confused about what to do next.

I want to get a trademark to get protection for my business name and logo Australia wide. I will be starting up an online store but I really only intend to make sales within Australia at this stage. If my trademark application is successful but later on down the track a business from another country with a similar name or logo sees my website and they have trademarked their own within their country – can they try to stop me from having a website that can be viewed by people from their country? Can they try to stop me from selling within their country? What if they are only trademarked within their country? What if they have taken out an international trademark after I took out my trademark? I don’t think I can afford to get an international trademark myself.

Also I’m confused about trademark categories. I’m an artist – this means I can and do work across many mediums… I can’t afford to trademark 10 different categories though because the cost is just too much versus the income I expect to make. Really not sure what to do here…. Do I just trademark for my main field of work and then just hope no one uses the same name to trademark in another field that I want to work in?

I’ve checked out my business reference book and the IP Australia website but couldn’t find such specific info. I’ve also searched on this website but no luck – if I’ve missed anything here please let me know the link. Thanks!

petercrocker
    • Total posts: 77
    Up

Hi Bug,
    I’m no expert at all in this area but this link might be a good start: