Home – New Forums Logistics Copy right products from manufacturers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    MissAP
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I am new here, but it looks to be a great place to learn and share knowledge.
    I am just starting out, I haven’t gotten very far just yet, trying to get the research happening to avoid silly mistakes.

My question or current situation is this:
    When looking at overseas manufacturers such as on alibaba who create shoes/clothes etc, how do you know if there are copy write protection on those designs etc?

I don’t want to fall into any trouble in relation to this. There are plenty of potential manufacturers out there making what I want, but is this a safe option, or should I be trying to redesign them and make them my own before attaching my label to them?!

Thanks, I hope you can assist!

MissAP

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi MissAP,

There are a few issues that you’ll need to be aware of here. Lots of them are covered in this thread, which should prove interesting reading for you (I recommend reading it all the way through, in the order in which the posts were published, as it veers off on a couple of relevant tangents – some of the links included may also be helpful for you).

Good luck, and thanks for joining Flying Solo,
    Jayne

Johny
    • Total posts: 840
    Up

I can’t offer 100% confirmation, but I think you will find that the vast majority of clothing you buy from places like Alibaba is generic, when talking about design of the clothing.

From what I understand it is very difficult (nearly impossible) to register a design for clothing, and most just select the pieces and have their own labeling attached.