Home – New Forums Get productive Creating an Operations Manual – Stress free method

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Keeta Nova
    • Total posts: 294
    Up
    ::

Reading the new Flying Solo book, reminded me about creating operations manuals.

Personally I love them, but even though I’m a writer I still struggle to allocate time for writing my own – and the worst part, keeping it updated!

My solution is to keep a word document on my desk top, and every time I think of something to put in there, I type it in. I don’t worry about the formatting or the perfect wording. I simply type it in the same way I would scribble on a notepad.

I then have data to refer back to, that is kept in one file. I can edit and format later if I need to.

Just a suggestion. You’ll find more info on these in other areas of the site.

HammockFG
    • Total posts: 136
    Up

I read something recently about an easy way to ‘teach’ someone how to do a procedure..fairly useful for a computer based job.

Just record yourself doing it. There’s lots of software that allows you to capture that kind of thing, and if you do need to include notes, they won’t need to be as in depth and complicated…

I’m hoping to include some demo’s in our manual (which I swear I have to rewrite every week!!)

Keeta Nova
    Up

Yeeessss…. someone who also knows how fun procedure writing can be! :D

I completely agree with your comment also.

Keeta

fiona@vas
    • Total posts: 43
    Up

Another thing to think about is how the information will be used and how many people you’ll be sharing it with.

Because we have hundreds of processes for our own business and for the work we do for clients, we store all our operations manual items in a database. Everyone can access it, everyone (well perhaps those to whom you’re happy to give access) can update it and it’s easily searchable.