Home Forums Marketing mastery Deposit?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Davejochow
    • Total posts: 38

Hi just a question about deposits and events. I am a decorator and lately I have people book me to do their event then they cancel a few weeks before hand. How long before an event can I ask for a deposit, because sometimes people book in very busy times and then cancel leaving me high and dry.

No Limits
    • Total posts: 48

Hi,

I’m not experienced in the legal area of your enquiry, however, this is my opinion based on common sense.

I see it no different to an options contract.
    They pay you a premium (deposit) to book your services so that you will be available to perform them at a later date.
    If they don’t follow through they lose their premium, or part of it, depending on your contract.
    If they continue, they purchase your services at the price agreed when you made the contract and took the deposit.
    I don’t see why a contract should have a short time period on it, it could be years away.

Basically, if you are offering a contract with specific terms and conditions listed and they agree to it by signing and paying for it, they should be held to it.

Of course these terms would be dependant on your industry and also the need to stay competitive in your marketplace.

Take a cruise for example, there is a scale based on the closer you cancel before depature date, the less refund you get back.

Keep them accountable by having a contract with terms and conditions in place.
    If your terms are reasonable and they don’t want to pay a deposit, you don’t need those types of customers as they are probably time wasters anyway.
    Deal with quality customers from the start and your life will be much easier.

Good luck.
    No Limits

ScarlettR
    • Total posts: 396

In my experience when dealing with event service providers (I know, I’m currently planning my wedding)