Home – New Forums Starting your journey DIY website or web designer?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    karlreynolds
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

Greetings community,

I need a bit of advice. I’m looking at creating a website to help showcase my photography services. I’m pretty strapped for $$ as I’m just starting out on top of my day job. So I’m tossing up between a DIY website option or biting the bullet and looking for an affordable web designer… I have a few questions that I would love some help answering:

1. In general terms (as I know it varies!), what sort of starter budget would I be looking to commission a photographic 2-3 page website with a web designer?
    2. What is the best DIY solution out there?
    3. How complex is it to use?
    4. What are the challenges with attempting a DIY solution?
    5. How did you create your first business website? DIY or web designer?

Any advice from other business owners would be hugely appreciated.

Have a great day.

Karl.

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    Up

I would say that 70% of DIY websites we are asked to review on here are woeful, so unless you have real talent in design, don’t do it. Or have a looks at some of the review people have given on here.

But having said that I would say that 40 to 50% of websites done by professionals that we have being asked to review, have also being woeful, so take from that what you will.

Good luck, the web space both design and SEO from what I can see is unregulated and open to every Tom, Dick and Harry to rip off your money, and destroy your business before you even start.

karlreynolds
    Up

Thanks for the advice Bert. Sounds like quality can be an issue either way and it’s best to choose wisely.

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    Up
    karlreynolds, post: 265867, member: 114902 wrote: