Home – New Forums Starting your journey Do I need to create a business (name)?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Silenkurii
    • Total posts: 8
    Up
    ::

Hello Flying Solo,

I work full time in the IT sector as a graphic designer. Through word of mouth, I’ve been approached by someone who would like me to help them out by doing some graphic work for their company. I’m happy to oblige but I’m a bit nervous as I’ve never done any freelance type work outside of my 9-5 job.

I just basically want to know what the process is here.
    *Do I have to register an ABN and business name to possibly only do one job? *What happens with tax?
    *Do I get in trouble if I only do one job a year?
    *Do I have to record everything I use just for the one job? Utilities, Fuel, Supplies etc?

I’m just freaking out a bit because it’s something I’d like to have the option of doing (working after hours on my own clients) while retaining a full-time job. This may lead to more work, or, it may just be a one off thing and I guess that’s where it’s a bit daunting. I don’t really know anything about tax, business, invoicing etc. I just draw things! Haha. But it’s definitely something I’d like to know more about if this becomes a “thing”.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

themoneytap
    • Total posts: 41
    Up

Hey,

I think it may depend on the company, as they may only be able to pay you if you have an ABN, but then again I know a few small companies that pay through paypal, direct deposit and cash for once off jobs.

Im not too sure on the rules for a hobby business and the threshold, as you can earn so much doing a hobby per year, something like 6k comes to mind?, but am not too sure with your case.