Home – New Forums Tech talk EC2 and data loss

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Divert To Mobile
    • Total posts: 2,751
    Up
    ::

does anyone have any direct experience with reliability in amazons cloud?

What happened did you have data loss?
    What did amazon do to rectify?

Steve

John C.
    • Total posts: 439
    Up

I’ve not used EC2, but I’ve been using Amazon S3 for a couple of years and have never experienced a problem. I haven’t heard of any problems with data loss either (unless you count people who lose their secret keys!).

The biggest fault with the Amazon Cloud Computing platforms, in my mind, is that they are designed by Engineers for Engineers – it’s not easy for a regular person to sift through all the information and work out how to use it. Unless you have a technical mind, and time to work it out, you may be better off with one of the companies that focuses more on the consumer market.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,
    John

Divert To Mobile
    Up

Hi John,

Thanks for your input. I definitely agree, they seem to have overcomplicated it to the nth degree. Its taken about 12 months of casual poking and prodding to get my head around the terminology, resource hierarchy and pricing structures but now I’m really liking it.

We’ve had a testing server up there humming away happily for about 3 months with no issues but were lacking the long term experience with ec2 to do a risk analysis to plan for DR.

Can I ask how you are dealing with DR up there?

Steve

John C.
    • Total posts: 439
    Up

I don’t use EC2, so haven’t had to deal with DR from that perspective. I only use S3 as a backup location for physical servers, so S3 is part of DR for those servers. If, on the very off chance that S3 were to ever be unavailable for an extended period, I would still have the original content as well as offline backups.