Home – New Forums Money matters eCommerce newbie – need help with bank account/payment options

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    AdrianM
    • Total posts: 6
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I have been trawling through all the posts that I can on here to find the answer to my question, but now my head is swimming and I’m starting to panic that I am in way over me head!

I am starting an eCommerce business selling children’s toys (specific to toys, not children’s lifestyle) with a background in childhood health (I’m a Physiotherapist). The focus is on enhancing children’s movement, development and encouraging creative and imaginative play with a blog that will help along side the eCommerce store.

I am trying to do my research before getting ready and I am just so confused because I am a complete newbie here and there are so many terms flying around on here that I just don’t understand.

My question/s are:
    1. I will be using Shopify to initally set up the eCommerce store and was planning on using PayPal to collect payments for products. Is there any other payment option I should consider?
    2. Will I need to open a bank account separate to the business bank account to filter the money from PayPal into it?
    3. Is it going to be difficult to get approval for a business bank account or should I just open a personal one that I can use to track expenses more easily (I am expecting that it will be slow running initially in terms of the number of sales).

Any suggestions of resources, responses and feedback are greatly appreciated.

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Adrian,

Sorry that there was a hold up before your post was published. :(

It’s here now though, and I have my fingers crossed that some of our resident experts will be able to help you out with some advice.

Good luck for the new venture,
    Jayne

James Millar
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,739
    Up
    AdrianM, post: 206904 wrote: